Order Newsletter


The Mission Fun Club

7 December 2013
  Laznia Nowa Theatre - Main Stage

Directed by:

Bartosz Szydłowski


Jolanta Janiczak


Laznia Nowa Theatre


85 min.


40 PLN/ 30 PLN

Amazon jungle, the second half of the 18th century. In an isolated village, inhabited by the Guarani Indians, Father Gabriel conducts his missionary work. Captain Rodrigo Mendoza, a former slave hunter, comes to visit him one day, searching for redemption for a fratricide he committed. Influenced by Gabriel’s plan to create a utopian Christian enclave for the savages, Rodrigo undergoes an inner transformation. The only thing standing in their way is the imperialist conflict between the kingdoms of Spain and Portugal, since both of them want to take control of the mission. The pope’s messenger, Cardinal Altamirano, comes from Vatican City to make a decision on the future of the Indian community… The narrative of the play references the well-know film The Mission, starring Jeremy Irons and Robert de Niro, and becomes an excuse to analyze the attitudes of the people who have power over the modern world, where consumerism forces out community values. Directed with flair and originality by Bartosz Szydłowski, The Mission engages the audience in a theatrical game, in a unique visual environment characterized by sophisticated set design and costumes that riff on the aesthetics of cloak and dagger productions. 


Directed by Bartosz Szydłowski
Script and dramaturgy by Jolanta Janiczak
Stage design and cistumes by Małgorzata Szydłowska
Choreography by: Cezary Tomaszewski
Music by Michał Litwiniec
Workshop by Steen Haakon
Dramaturgy assistant: Bartek Harat
Media: Przemek Fik
Cameras: Sebastian Strama, Aleksander Trafas


Krzysztof Zarzecki/Mateusz Janicki: Father Gabriel

Radosław Krzyżowski: Rodrigo Mendoza

Jan Peszek: Altamirano

Krzysztof Głuchowski: Cabeza I

Mateusz Janicki: Sebastian

Jakub Hatyński: Hontar

Wiktoria Kulaszewska: Carlotta

Grzegorz Łukawski: Cabeza II

Maciej Sajur: ipatupa

Dominik Stroka: Felipe Mendoza

"The Mission" Fans: Maria Bareła, Włodzimierz Bareła, Mariusz Cichoński, Barbara Dziedzic, Stanisław Dziedzic, Jadwiga Jamińska, Ewa Michałowicz, Hanna Napora, Ewa Nowakowska-Włodek, Tadeusz Siudak, Łukasz Szczepan Szczepanik, Dominika Śniegocka, Urszula Tylek, Agnieszka Wierny